Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Strategies are published here.

Moderator: admin

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby refresc0 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:18 pm

Fantastic work MooMooFX! :o

One question I have is how can I setup the getTradingDayOffset parameter, 5pm as the end and beginning of a trading day.

Thx
refresc0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby Apprentice » Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:58 am

As implemented this is not possible at this time.
You can can only use chart data, provided by FXCM servers.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 21790
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby Paulo C » Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:27 am

moomoofx wrote:Hi Paulo,

That's possible.

Your request has been added to the development list.

Cheers,
MooMooFX


Thanks MooMooFX,
I await modification to eventually start applying in my real account.
Cheers,
Paul C
Paulo C
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby refresc0 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:55 am

Is this strategy written to work with today's pivot points or from the day before? I'm testing it without trading and the pivot points are always moving so it is not actually based on yesterday's pivot points. Can this be fixed?
Thx again!
refresc0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:14 pm

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby moomoofx » Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:20 pm

The strategy is based on the current values of the Pivot Points indicator. This is how most people use the Pivot Points indicator. This can be confirmed if you look at the screenshot in the original post.

Are you saying you would like to request an enhancement that it be able to use yesterday's pivot points?
User avatar
moomoofx
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Okinawa, Japan. http://moomooforex.com

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby Paulo C » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:27 am

Hi MooMooFX
I tried to test the strategy based on the weekly pivot points, but the program did not open any position. You can see what's going on?
thank you
Paulo C
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby moomoofx » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:45 pm

Hi Paulo C,

I looked into this briefly and identified an issue that impacted timeframes greater than D1 so I have quickly resolved this. Quick testing in the backtester looks good.

Please re-download the strategy from the first post and let me know if it is is not fixed for you.

Your other enhancement request is still on the to-do list unfortunately.

Cheers,
MooMooFX
User avatar
moomoofx
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: Okinawa, Japan. http://moomooforex.com

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby fjasonfx » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:26 am

For some reason I can't install this or any other strategy. I try to click and drag it to my chart but when I do it shows the circle with a line through it. You know the stop sign, symbol. Just wondering if it is something I'm doing or something on fxcodebase's end. Is anybody else experiencing this same thing or have a solution? I have downloaded many things from here I just don't know why it's not working now.
Thanks,
FJFX
fjasonfx
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:33 pm

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby maggieq » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:47 am

Hi,

Please see my next post....thanks.
Last edited by maggieq on Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
maggieq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:35 am

Re: Highly Adaptable Pivot Strategy

Postby maggieq » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:20 pm

Hi,

I backtested this strategy today with different currency pairs and found there is a problem. Since I only sell at R and buy at S and only close with limit of 10 (I don't close at PP), I should only have increasing balance although my equity will drop from time to time. I noticed a few sudden drop in my balance and then I checked run history.

I found that wherever there is a sudden drop in balance, there is a 'USD/JPY order' showed up in the middle of the events and closed all my orders. I should note that this bug only happens after 2-3 runs.

Could you please explain and fix this? Thank you!

EURJPY2.png


EURJPY.png
maggieq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:35 am

PreviousNext

Return to Custom Strategies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests